Celebrate Art! 42nd Annual District-Wide Student Art Exhibit

42nsdDistrictWideExhibit

Celebrate Art! 42nd Annual District-Wide Student Art Exhibit
March 15-April 21, 2013; Kenosha Public Museum Second Floor Galleries
Presented by the Kenosha Unified School District Department of Fine Arts.
Opening reception Friday, March 15, 2013, 5:30-8pm.


Article by Josie Rodriguez

I take the elevator straight up to the second floor galleries. There is a simple white sign hanging on the double doors that greets us. It reads: “The West and South Galleries are closed for the installation of the 42nd annual Kenosha Unified Schools District Wide Student Art Show.” I should probably head back to the main floor but my curiosity gets the best of me so I gently push open the door. I just want to see what is going on. The door shuts behind me and the gallery in front of my eyes transports me to the imagination of a child. It is March 14th at the Kenosha Public Museum; the day before the juried art show event that will boast three to five thousand people. To step into this gallery gives me the sensation that I left myself at the door without intending to, and was issued the gift of someone else’s perspective instantly. To be precise: the perspectives of youth through their original works, ranging from kinder-gardeners to high school seniors.

Vivid colors leap off every two and three dimensional artwork surface, from every angle, down every row. My footsteps are led to vibrant images organized by grade level, and all artwork credits each artist by name. As my gaze moves through the pieces I realize I am meeting each artist through something more exquisite than a handshake. Handshakes cannot compare to this method of acquaintance. Being invited into a child’s creative development process and world through what they create, inspires me and will undoubtedly inspire every viewer who will attend this annual event.

The efforts of their artwork remind me that there are endless variations of colors, shapes and ideas that can reform any grey parts in the world that exist outside the museum walls. The art deserves viewing and recognition. These student artists used whatever tools and techniques they could get their hands on to tell a story, share an original idea through an image, and develop skills on the front lines of scrutiny, risk and reward. They are willing to be inventive and are unafraid of originality. Their perspective shared through art is enthusiastic proof of not only solutions and results, but of design and presentation successfully hitting a mark that connects everyone to the experience of exploring and enjoying the creative process.

Do-It-yourself-poetryatthemuseumGet in your car, drive to the Kenosha Public Museum located at 5500 1st ave. in Kenosha, WI 53140. Take the elevator straight up to the second floor galleries at the Kenosha Public Museum on Friday March 15th, 2013 and experience the awesome installation of the 42nd annual Kenosha Unified Schools District Wide Student Art Show. Opening reception begins at 5:30 p.m.-8 p.m. The exhibit runs 3/15/13-4/21/2013. Free admission. You won’t want to head back to the main floor in a hurry once you see what is going on but make sure to stop downstairs too. ExposeKenosha.com is featuring a “Do it yourself Newspaper poetry,” activity section free to the public to participate in, and includes several examples of the art form on display at the front of the museum.

